Summer is one of those seasons that I anticipate, fantasize about, plan for, and then I blink and it’s over and I haven’t done half of the things I had hoped to do.

To fix that, two years ago I started my annual Summer Bucket List. My husband and I spent a few weeks brainstorming what types of things we wanted to do over the summer, made a list, and left it on our fridge so that we could check off each item, one-by-one as we did it. It was perfect for those nights when we wanted to plan a fun date, but couldn’t come up with anything creative.

summerideas

The second year, we decided to start our Summer Bucket List in May, because hot Texas summers prohibit a lot of our outdoor adventures after mid-June. Things like eating dinner on a restaurant patio aren’t nearly as fun when it’s 110 degrees outside and the metal chair burns a permanent reminder of your night into the back of your legs. So we have since declared that summer in our house offiically runs May 1 through Labor Day.

This summer our bucket list will be a bit different – we’ll be welcoming our first baby in July, and I’m not really sure what to expect yet. This year’s list may be all about simplicity and relaxing by the pool. I guess we’ll play it by ear.

But for the rest of you, here’s a free printable of a Summer Bucket List that you can use with your family to brainstorm fun activities.

Web

Download your own copy here

What will be on your list? Please share some fun ideas in the comments below. And, for more ideas, visit our Summer Bucket List page on Pinterest.

 

Bethe Wright is the Director of Marketing and Public Relations at North Hills Hospital, a wife, and a first-time mom-to-be this summer.